1 Comment

Poem for Mother's Day

If Mother’s Day is a holiday created by the unholy trinity of the greeting card companies, florists, and multinational confectionary conglomerates, good for them. They have unwittingly used their powers for good. It is right for a man to set aside time (ideally more than once a year) to reflect on and respond to the great acts of love shown to him by his mother and by the mother of his child, and also to give his child some extra special attention, because she kind of made this day possible.

Later today, I hope to post something about Kate specifically. In the meantime, here is a poem by Wendell Berry entitled “To My Mother.” The poem was featured on yesterday’s episode of The Writer’s Almanac with Garrison Keillor.

To My Mother

I was your rebellious son,
do you remember? Sometimes
I wonder if you do remember,
so complete has your forgiveness been.

So complete has your forgiveness been
I wonder sometimes if it did not
precede my wrong, and I erred,
safe found, within your love,

prepared ahead of me, the way home,
or my bed at night, so that almost
I should forgive you, who perhaps
foresaw the worst that I might do,

and forgave before I could act,
causing me to smile now, looking back,
to see how paltry was my worst,
compared to your forgiveness of it

already given. And this, then,
is the vision of that Heaven of which
we have heard, where those who love
each other have forgiven each other,

where, for that, the leaves are green,
the light a music in the air,
and all is unentangled,
and all is undismayed.

One comment on “Poem for Mother's Day

  1. That is a very nice poem, I like it a lot.

Leave a Reply

