4 Comments

Dancing

Malawi Dancing

Sitting in Starbucks this morning I watched a man outside the window briefly dance his heart out with the little one year-old boy he was babysitting. It was dazzling: he was black and spoke with an accent I couldn’t place; the little boy was wide-eyed and red-headed. They stomped their feet and threw up their hands and laughed and had great fun, and all as cars whizzed by on NE Glisan and nosey coffee patrons started writing blog posts in their heads.

Libby posted a couple great dance videos on her blog yesterday, both set to “Lisztomania” by Phoenix. The first video, which you can watch below, is a Brat Pack mash-up. The second, which you can watch here, is an updated version by a group of friends calling themselves the Brooklyn Brat Pack.

And I suppose this post is as good an excuse as any to post a video of my favorite scene from “Flight of the Conchords.”

Now, dancing around the living room with Molly is one of the great joys of my life. She’s going through a pop phase. Her favorite song right now is “Lost+” (featuring Jay-Z) from the Coldplay EP “Prospekt’s March.” Her favorite line is from Jay-Z’s third verse:

So it’s tough being Bobby Brown
To be Bobby then, you have to be Bobby now
And the question is, is to have had and lost,
Better than not having at all?

Time was I could cut quite the rug. But I don’t dance in public anymore.  The picture at the top of the post is from my trip to Malawi last year. At a party a couple weeks ago some of my friends tripped the light fantastic. Kate was in there mixing it up too – the party was for her. I stayed on the margins smoking the rare cigarette and watching with amusement.

Watching these videos, and then seeing the man and kid dance this morning outside my window, it occurred to me that I need one good dance party like a thirsty man needs water. My style of dancing involves some of this and some of this and a lot of this. Next time the conditions are right – that is to say, next time I am around friends who tolerate (or even encourage) this kind of foolishness – I hope I go for it.

4 comments on “Dancing

  1. Is that from Improv Everywhere?

  2. Great post. I love to dance…and every great once in a while will–with the aid of alcohol–step on to a dance floor. Like this…

  3. John, couldn’t find a direct email address. My post today alludes to you reading Wallace Stegner stuff. As I’ve fact-checked a little, it was actually a post you drove quoting Wendell Berry. The two men are kissing cousins, but mea culpa…

    John

Leave a Reply

