Leave a comment

Looking Forward to Looking Back

I realized something about myself the other day. It’s not a commentary on our culture or whatever – it’s just something about my own interests and personality. Here is what I realized:

I am not likely to get the end of my life and think, “Man, I wish I would have watched more TV.” But I will almost certainly get to the end of my life and think with a sigh, “I wish I could have read more books.”

I’ll have a few other things on my mind too, obviously. But I hope I have a chance to reflect on my favorite authors and the books that were faithful companions on the journey. I also hope I have a chance to think wistfully about the books that got away – the ones I wanted to read but couldn’t or didn’t.

You know who probably didn’t get to the end of his life and wished he could have read more books? John Milton (1608-1674), who supposedly read every book that had ever been published in English.

Leave a Reply

