2 Comments

Slow Church

I’m writing an article for Neue Magazine about the possibility of “Slow Church.” I’m grateful for the opportunity to explore an idea that began as a hunch, but it’s clear now that 2,500 words will only whet my appetite with this topic. (It’s also clear that I’m not the only one to notice this connection. I’ve found some interesting blog posts, essays, and sermons from Jonathan Dodson, Kyle Childress, Gordon Atkinson, and Tim Chester.)

My thesis is that all these Slow Food principles have (or could have) corollaries in the church: the table, hospitality, pleasure, justice, real connections, conversation, local knowledge and identity, shared traditions and shared space, consumers as co-producers, manageable scale, an unhurried pace that is profoundly countercultural, and a focus on the abundance of Time rather than the oppressiveness of Time.

Alice Waters talks about the Slow Food movement as a “re-education of the senses.” Slow Church is about…what? I’m still trying to work out the best way to put that. Maybe “the reconciliation of the world to God, one neighborhood at a time.”

I hope somebody is a writing a book on “Slow Church” so I don’t have to. What am I saying? I’d love to write this book.

2 comments on “Slow Church

  1. I’d love to a book about this John. Thanks and I hope you are motivated to further elaborate what Slow Church really looks like. It is a foreign concept to me, but I love the notion of what it might represent in our hustle bustle world.

Leave a Reply

