1 Comment

Relevant Magazine: Does Voting Matter?

I wrote an essay on politics for for the January/February issue of Relevant Magazine. It was cross-posted today on Relevant’s website:

I cried myself to sleep the night Bill Clinton was elected president in 1992. I was 14—too young to vote but old enough to know America had, at the ballot, formally turned its back on God. I implored God not to turn His back on America. When I woke in the morning, I was surprised how bright it was, even a little offended the sun had risen at all, as if it didn’t know the world was ending.

I pulled the lever for Dole in ’96, hoping to rescue what Rush Limbaugh called “America Held Hostage.” I stayed up all night watching Round One of the Bush/Gore election on a big-screen TV in the church where I was serving as youth pastor. In 2003, bombs rained on Baghdad, and I raised a glass to toast the military might of the United States. In 2007, I was arrested in front of the White House as part of the Christian Peace Witness for Iraq. Somewhere in the middle of all that, I voted for John Kerry, a decision a few of my Christian friends and family interpreted not as the sum of a complicated political equation but as spiritual rebellion.

Continue reading at the Relevant Magazine website…

One comment on “Relevant Magazine: Does Voting Matter?

  1. Do more than is required. What is the distance between somebody that achieves cause real progress consistently and people who spend their lives and careers merely following? Further.
    Our effort is the presentation of our own capabilities.

Leave a Reply

