1 Comment

Eternal Beings Living in Time: On Wendell Berry’s “Jayber Crow”

My favorite Wendell Berry novels are The Memory of Old Jack (1952) and Jayber Crow (1986), both of which were featured in 2009 in an issue of Oxford American magazine celebrating great Southern fiction. Now that I am about a quarter of the way through my first chronological exploration of the Port William fiction, I thought I would post here the short essay I wrote about Jayber Crow for my book, Besides the Bible: 100 Books that Have, Should, or Will Create Christian Culture(Besides the Bible, co-written with Dan Gibson and Jordan Green, was recently republished by InterVarsity Press.) Berry’s work in general – and Jayber Crow in particular – planted some of the earliest seeds of Slow Church. I’m guessing many of our Slow Church friends are familiar with Wendell Berry’s writing. If so, have you found your way to his fiction yet? Do you have a favorite novel?

Here is that essay…

Read the whole post at the Slow Church blog…

One comment on “Eternal Beings Living in Time: On Wendell Berry’s “Jayber Crow”

  1. I’m torn about reading any essays related to Slow Church because I can’t quite decide if the anticipation and eventual fulfillment will abate if I take these “sneak peeks.” Deep down inside of me I can feel you toying with my emotions…

Leave a Reply

