2 Comments

Guard Your Hearts

I avoid vitriolic talk radio, whether its coming from the right or the left. But recently I had little choice but to listen to a hate-filled left-wing talk show. (I was driving home late one night and it was the only thing on the radio that could keep me awake.) And now I’m listening to an audiobook by a popular right-wing talk radio personality that is an exercise in oversimplification and dripping with self-righteousness. Driving in the car today, I started shouting at the audiobook – to my shame and Molly’s surprise – “You’re not telling the whole story!” I’m thinking about the people who expose themselves to this stuff on a regular basis, and the phrase that comes to mind is one we heard all the time in youth group: “Guard your hearts.”

2 comments on “Guard Your Hearts

  1. […] Combating Destructive Distortions About Our Nation. (This is the audiobook I mentioned in an earlier post.) Medved uses that Mark Twain quote – or a version of it that I can’t track back to an […]

  2. […] I mentioned in a previous post, the reason I don’t listen to Rush Limbaugh, Michael Savage, or even some of the worst talk […]

Leave a Reply

