1 Comment

Nonviolence in Westeros

george-rr-martin

Two caveats: (1) I really like George R.R. Martin’s “Game of Thrones” series, and (2) I’m only on Book Three, so I’m barely into the story.

But here is the feeling I can’t escape: I can’t help wishing that someone–a man or a god–would come onto the scene preaching and practicing a creative, subversive, generative peace. Violence is the answer to everything in Westeros, which is why there will always be violence in Westeros.

One comment on “Nonviolence in Westeros

  1. I’m trying to come up with examples of those who are after peace in A Song of Ice and Fire, but I can’t come up with any pure peace advocates. Even when warring parties meet under the guise of trying to sort out their differences, everyone always seems to be out to pull one over on the other guy.

    Ned Stark was at least honourable. I don’t think he necessarily wanted to solve his problems with violence. But those around him had other ideas I suppose.

    It would be refreshing.

    But the petty squabbles, fighting and violence between people who should be working together is one of the main themes of the series. You have these families fighting over a meaningless crown, in the big picture, when they have the threat beyond the wall that nobody seems to care about.

Leave a Reply

