22 Comments

Somewhere Beyond the Barricade

les-miserables-hugh-jackman-anne-hathaway-new

Kate and I saw Les Miserables tonight, the new film starring Hugh Jackman, Anne Hathaway, and Russell Crowe. It is a truly stunning movie. The director, his crew, and these talented actors were able to take the spectacle of the stage show and translate it into a remarkably intimate story. Kate and I agreed that we’ve never had a movie experience quite like it, and we drove home from our date night in almost total silence.

I was completely engrossed by the movie, but a couple times during the film—to my surprise—my mind suddenly detoured: first, to a conversation I had this afternoon about the theology of predestination, and then to the biblical book of Isaiah. Today’s discussion about predestination was brief and friendly, but I admit that I spent many late nights in my twenties endlessly debating a subject that smarter people than me have been arguing about for centuries. Watching the scenes of the Parisian peasants crying out for social and economic justice, watching the young men on the barricades die in each other’s arms, I started thinking again about the roiling waters of human striving, the great mass of humanity, Kate sitting next to me, my daughter at home in bed, Gavroche dying on the cobblestones…and I thought to myself, “Could there be a less important thing to talk about than predestination?”

Honestly, what came to mind is this:

“The multitude of your arguments about predestination—what are they to me? I have enough of your debates about eternal security, more than enough of your pre-wrath and amillennial, and your endless tribs (pre-, mid-, and post-)…They have become a burden to me…Stop doing wrong, learn to do right. Seek justice, encourage the oppressed. Defend the cause of the fatherless, plead the case of the widow.”

This is tonight’s interpretation (my very context-specific interpretation, mostly my own words, not a translation or paraphrase) of Isaiah 1:11-17. Defending the cause of the fatherless and pleading the case of the widow—that’s exactly what Jean Valjean did of course. And then he sang with the final chorus:

Do you hear the people sing
Lost in the valley of the night?
It is the music of a people
who are climbing to the light.

For the wretched of the earth
there is a flame that never dies.
Even the darkest night will end
and the sun will rise.

They will live again in freedom
in the garden of the Lord.
They will walk behind the ploughshare;
they will put away the sword.
The chain will be broken
and all men will have their reward.

Will you join in our crusade?
Who will be strong and stand with me?
Somewhere beyond the barricade
is there a world you long to see?
Do you hear the people sing?
Say, do you hear the distant drums?
It is the future that they bring
when tomorrow comes…
Tomorrow comes!

22 comments on “Somewhere Beyond the Barricade

  1. I love Les Miserables as well. Glad you enjoyed it.

  2. I felt the same way about that final song, a culmination of a great story that saw into the future we’re all praying for, hoping for, and hopefully WORKING for. Thank you, John. Beautifully written.

    • Thanks, Susan. As I mentioned in the post, I had seen the stage show but I guess what I focused on most that night was the score, the staging, and the spectacle. Something about the intimacy of the film, though, finally put me in touch with how incredible the lyrics are. I’d like to learn more someday about how the novel was first adapted into a musical.

  3. Me, too. I’d seen the musical three times, all from the 30th row or further. The film brought us right in to the faces, and I followed the story all the clearer. I don’t know much about the making of the musical, but Les Miz was such a phenomenon, I’m sure there are books about the making of. Lar got me Hugo’s novel for Christmas. I’m looking forward to reading it.

  4. My favorite Victor Hugo quote, “No army can withstand the strength of an idea whose time has come.”

  5. Have you ever considered creating an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog based upon on the same subjects you discuss and
    would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would enjoy your work.
    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

  6. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this website.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to get
    that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal.

    I must say you have done a awesome job with this. In addition,
    the blog loads extremely quick for me on Internet explorer.
    Superb Blog! buying followers on twitter

  7. สวัสดี , ฉันจะ คิด บล็อกของคุณ อาจ ปัญหา เมื่อใดก็ตามที่ ฉัน
    ดู ของคุณ บล็อก ใน Safari ก็ ดูดี แต่เมื่อ แต่ถ้า ใน IE , ที่มี ปัญหา
    ที่ทับซ้อนกัน ฉัน ให้ หัว รวดเร็ว ขึ้น อื่น ๆ กว่าที่ , ดี เว็บไซต์

  8. Hi สวัสดี กระทู้นี มี ปัญหา กับ เว็บไซต์ ใน อินเทอร์เน็ต explorer, จะ ตรวจสอบ การทดสอบ นี้ IE ยังคง กระนั้น เป็น ตลาด
    ผู้นำ และ ดี ส่วนของ คน อื่น ๆ จะ ผ่าน ของคุณ เลิศ เพราะ ปัญหานี้ .

  9. I think that what you said made a great deal of sense.
    But, think about this, what if you were to create a killer headline?

    I am not saying your content isn’t good, but suppose you added something that grabbed people’s attention?
    I mean Somewhere Beyond the Barricade | John Erik Pattison is a little boring.
    You ought to peek at Yahoo’s front page and see how they
    write news titles to grab people interested. You might add a video or a related
    pic or two to get readers interested about what you’ve written. Just my
    opinion, it could bring your posts a little livelier.

  10. Wonderful items from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and
    you are just extremely great. I really like what you’ve bought right here,
    really like what you’re saying and the best way during which
    you are saying it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of
    to keep it wise. I can not wait to read far more from you.

    This is really a great web site.

  11. Hello, I wish for to subscribe for this blog to take newest updates, thus where can i do it please help.

  12. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little
    bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

  13. What’s up, just wanted to mention, I enjoyed this blog post.

    It was practical. Keep on posting!

  14. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite certain I will learn lots of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  15. Right here is the perfect webpage for anyone who wishes to
    find out about this topic. You understand so much its
    almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a new spin on a topic that’s been written about for decades.
    Great stuff, just wonderful!

  16. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.

    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for
    the post. I will definitely comeback.

  17. Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this site on a regular basis, this
    website is really pleasant and the users are genuinely sharing fastidious thoughts.

  18. Hi, i think that i noticed you visited my web site so i
    came to return the desire?.I’m trying to in finding things to enhance my website!I guess its adequate to use a
    few of your concepts!!

  19. This results when the mother did not have a healthy relationship with the
    father and transferred her emotional and psychological needs to the child
    rather than nurturing that child in a healthy manner.
    When a carboxyl group is removed from dopa, the ultimate result is
    dopamine. Parents must aware of this gambling addiction of their children.

Leave a Reply

