Leave a comment

Thelma Kay Pattison

About a month ago, my grandmother was diagnosed with advanced, aggressive ovarian cancer. She died this morning at her home in Keizer, Oregon. She was a real dame, and over the last four weeks Kate, Molly, and I had several opportunities to witness her indefatigable spunk and wit, as well as her deep tenderness. I keep thinking about something she said the last time I visited. We brought Molly with us that day. “It’s important that she sees this,” my grandma said to me. “It’s important that Molly sees that death is nothing to be afraid of.” That same day she told Molly, “When I get to heaven I’m going to tell Jesus about the prettiest little girl.” I want to help Molly remember that.

I’ll be thinking about grandma today, and of course about dad and mom and grandpa and all the kids and grandkids and great-grandkids. We were well loved.

Leave a Reply

